Cigarettes and Sin

Here we go again I thought

He’s so different from the rest my brain and heart fought

So nice and handsome I fell so fast

He has to be different from the guys in the past

Talked and bonded over our kids and partners

I realized that you were quite the charmer

You were sweet, romantic, and most of all cute

Probably shouldn’t have taken a bite of that forbidden fruit

The first time we hung out it was so late

Asked me when you could take me on a date

I had a rough time that night, I just got out of a bad meet up

You texted and said “I’ll pick you up”

Took you to my favorite spot to see all the lights

Sitting beside you in your truck felt so right

You asked to hold my hand

When we finally kissed

My head spinned

Felt like I  committed a deathly sin

Kissed the whole night

Argued over who was cuter

I fell in love with your sense of humor

Your smile tasted of cigarettes and sin

Yet every time you made me fall in

Got home you texted me “I’m sorry, my wife does not approve”

Oh okay I I replied feeling so confused

Days go by I never messaged you

Finally one day you messaged me hi

I was so happy that day I almost cried

We talked again all day and night

Decided to meet up you missed me right?

Went back to the spot this time

You kissed me quite a lot

One thing led to another

Told me I was pretty, cute, sexy

As we both breathed heavily

After it was over I went and dropped you off

Kissed me in the driveway before I pulled away

Text me when you get home safe you say

I drive home smiling remembering the night

Trying not to swerve smiling from delight

Texted you I was home you said “goodnight hun”

Didn’t know that would be the last time we have fun

Message received the next day

“Hey I’m sorry but my wife isn’t okay”

Oh okay I replied my heart shattered at the words

I’m sorry you say

It doesn’t matter I’m used to the pain

Next time you try this please keep in mind

I’m a person with feelings

Know what you want and don’t waste my time.

 

 

 

Published by ShortandStoutBlogs

Hello Readers! My name is Lyssa. I have always wanted to be an author, ever since I could remember. I mostly write poetry, but I have a few books in the works. At age 27, I decided to continue my education for English and literature. I like to call myself the "Taylor Swift" of poetry. I appreciate everyone who has been supporting me with the comments and the likes. You guys give me hope that one day I'll be able to do this for a living. If you want to support in more ways. You can find my first ever poetry book on Amazon titled "All Her Scars." If you want to donate $ to a broke English major, you are more than welcome my cashapp is Allykitty13131313. Thank you so much. <3

Leave a comment