Friday the 13th

December

Friday the 13th

My favorite number

The last full moon of the decade

My birthday

My freedom

A breath of relief fills my lungs as I exhale the toxicity leaps from my tongue

23 a year of lessons learned so many scars that were burned

Reopened hidden wounds

I shut myself down became a cocoon

I lost pieces of myself along the way

Some were given some were stolen and some were ripped straight from my heart

I could not find a break away

I was used, tortured and bruised

Lost you, myself and my mind was left confused

Mistakes were made times were rough

I didn’t know when enough was enough

Mental, emotional, and sexual abuse

My body wasn’t my own anymore

So I stopped fighting what was the use?

I tried to die more times than once

I blamed myself for being raped

Let me say that again I blamed MYSELF for being raped

I let myself be manipulated and played for months on end

I missed you. I thought we could be friends.

I put myself in a box and locked it away

Hoping it could be unlocked some day

Friday the 13th

The last full moon of the decade

My birthday

Was that day

A nose piercing helped me break free

Somehow that was the key

You see I made the decision to get one because my body is my own

I don’t belong to anyone

It reminded me that I am whole

I am me my body is mine no one can confine

No one has the right to steal, touch or graze my skin

I know who I am within

I’m finally whole and me again

Who knew one needle could change everything

Who knew a piercing could bring back my freedom.

 

Published by ShortandStoutBlogs

Hello Readers! My name is Lyssa. I have always wanted to be an author, ever since I could remember. I mostly write poetry, but I have a few books in the works. At age 27, I decided to continue my education for English and literature. I like to call myself the "Taylor Swift" of poetry. I appreciate everyone who has been supporting me with the comments and the likes. You guys give me hope that one day I'll be able to do this for a living. If you want to support in more ways. You can find my first ever poetry book on Amazon titled "All Her Scars." If you want to donate $ to a broke English major, you are more than welcome my cashapp is Allykitty13131313. Thank you so much. <3

Leave a comment